The University of Arizona Logo
Old Engineering building

College Celebrates Fall 2019 Standout Students

Time to read
2 minutes
Read so far

College Celebrates Fall 2019 Standout Students

Dec. 12, 2019
Posted in:
UArizona Engineering recognizes undergraduate and graduate scholars at Outstanding Student Luncheon.

The University of Arizona College of Engineering honored 20 seniors and graduate students for their accomplishments at the Outstanding Student Luncheon on Dec. 9, 2019. The students’ nominators commended the group for their performance not only in the classroom and the lab, but also in internships, volunteer organizations and campus groups. David W. Hahn, Craig M. Berge Dean of the college, encouraged students to keep expanding the boundaries of their comfort zones and said he looked forward to watching each of them succeed.

“I have no doubt that 20 years from now, 30 years from now, I’ll be long gone, but the next dean will be sitting down with you in some faraway city and talking about the great things going on at this university and asking for your help and congratulating your success,” he said.

The luncheon's honorees are listed in full below.

Outstanding Seniors

Aerospace Engineering: Jesse Samitas Chavarria, nominated by assistant professor Jekan Thanga

Biomedical Engineering: Josh Pace, nominated by professor and department Head Art Gmitro

Biosystems Engineering: Madeline Melichar, nominated by associate professor Kamel Didan

Civil Engineering: Daylan Toledo, nominated by associate professor of practice Dean Papajohn

Engineering Management: Kenniss Pannell, nominated by program director Bob Lepore

Industrial Engineering: Elizabeth Pelto, nominated by professor Changxu "Sean" Wu

Materials Science and Engineering: Gabrielle Lambert-Milak, nominated by professor and department Head Pierre Deymier

Mechanical Engineering: Shawn Granzier-Nakajima, nominated by professor and associate department Head Samy Missoum

Mining Engineering: Dan Higgins, nominated by associate professor Moe Momayez

Systems Engineering: Yesenia Machuca, nominated by lecturer Sam Peffers

Outstanding Graduate Students

Aerospace Engineering: Ravi Teja Nallapu, nominated by assistant professor Jekan Thanga

Biomedical Engineering: Marissa Lopez-Pier, nominated by associate professor John Konhilas

Biosystems Engineering: Ying Zhang, nominated by professor Murat Kacira

Civil Engineering and Engineering Management: Sayyed Mohsen Vazirizade, nominated by professor Achintya Haldar

Electrical and Computer Engineering: Ao Li, nominated by professor and Thomas R. Brown Endowed Chair Linda Powers

Environmental Engineering: Warren Kadoya, nominated by professor and assistant Dean Jim Field

Materials Science and Engineering: Bharati Neelamraju, nominated by assistant professor Erin Ratcliff

Mechanical Engineering: Xiaoxin Wang, nominated by professor and department Head Peiwen "Perry" Li

Mining and Geological Engineering: Blase LaSala, nominated by professor and department Head John Kemeny

Systems and Industrial Engineering: Jose Luis Ruiz Duarte, nominated by assistant professor Vignesh Subbian