The University of Arizona Logo
Old Engineering building

Brown Foundations Award Engineering and Business Scholarships

Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Brown Foundations Award Engineering and Business Scholarships

Dec. 6, 2011
The UA College of Engineering, the Eller College of Management, and the Thomas R. Brown Foundations announce the recipients of Thomas R. Brown distinguished scholarships.

In 2001, Tom Brown, for whom the foundation is named, was named technology executive of the year at the Technology and Management Awards, which marked the collaboration between UA's College of Engineering and the Eller College of Management.

Burr-Brown Research Corporation, the technology company started in 1956 by Tom Brown and his partner Page Burr, whom Brown later bought out, was eventually sold to Texas Instruments in a stock deal worth more than $7 billion. At the time the move was the semiconductor industry's largest-ever acquisition.

It has become a tradition at the annual scholarship lunches to watch a recording of Tom Brown's acceptance speech, which many of the new scholars have never seen. Tom Brown's wisdom, humor, and business and engineering acumen are thus passed on every year to a new generation of entrepreneurial engineers.

To honor Tom Brown and continue his legacy of innovation and entrepreneurship, the Brown Family Foundation generously supports several University of Arizona endeavors. The foundation's scholarships for students in the Eller College of Management and the College of Engineering reflect Tom Brown's own educational choices, which began with an undergraduate engineering degree from MIT and continued with an MBA from Harvard.

Gifts from the Brown Family Foundation to the two colleges are intended to foster an environment of creativity and enterprise that will produce the leaders of the future. In 2006 the Brown Family Foundation established two permanent endowments to support the Thomas R. Brown Distinguished Scholarships in perpetuity.

College of Engineering Thomas R. Brown Scholars

Nirantha Balagopal
Rachel Braun
Hannah Budinoff
Layne Castro
Jeremy Gin
Elizabeth Greene
Lisa Guay
Jessica Hung
Safatul Islam
Corey Kinsinger
R. Jacob Lowery
Daniel Martin
Mireya Moleres
Christopher Safi
Dalton Sycks
Brendan Tobin
Sumana Veeravelli

Eller MBA Scholars

Corey Eck
Milad Davaloo Khongar
Jenny Yang
Alejandra Yeomans

Brown Economics Graduate Fellows

Husnain Ahmad
Elizabeth May
Stefanie Ramirez
Nedko Yordanov