The University of Arizona Logo
a large group of people, one holding an award

Leadership award winner Kandie Stanton poses with colleagues. Presenter Kriss Pope, associate dean for finance and administration, said she was touched by letters of recommendation from Stanton’s team, which referenced feeling empowered within a growth environment.

2024 College Awards Celebrate ‘The Best Team on Campus’

Time to read
2 minutes
Read so far

2024 College Awards Celebrate ‘The Best Team on Campus’

April 19, 2024
Posted in:
From instructors to advisors and accountants, employees are impressing.

Engineering employees celebrated one another for innovation, dedication and the diverse skills that bring the college’s mission to life at the 2024 awards luncheon, held on March 20.

“We started this tradition to further recognize our team members, and it is very satisfying to see the strong participation and increased numbers of nominations,” said David W. Hahn, the Craig M. Berge Dean, who turned the awards program into a comprehensive annual event at which recipients receive one-time cash awards in 2022.

“I say often this college has the best team on campus, and I will always stand by that,” Hahn added.

Staff Awards

Since 2001, the William P. Cosart Award has recognized exemplary service annually. This year, the honor went to associate accountant Dorothy Ashton, whose responsibilities include managing over 180 research accounts with costs totaling $2.7 million in the biomedical engineering and systems and industrial engineering departments.

Ashton, who works in the Old Engineering Business Center, drew the enthusiastic support of four nominators. They praised her collaborative disposition, meticulous work, and expertise with complex matters related to grants and other agreements.

Three additional awards honor leadership to a team or in the college overall, innovation and problem-solving, and caring support of students through advising and mentorship.

Faculty Awards

Four awards celebrate faculty members making outstanding contributions in teaching and research. Presenters Kathleen Melde, associate dean of faculty affairs and inclusion, and Mark Van Dyke spoke about the importance of both to the college’s mission. Dyke awarded Researcher of the Year to Lianyang Zhang, professor of civil and architectural engineering and mechanics, he pointed to Zhang’s nomination packet: “His very strong letter included three additional outside experts. I’ve never seen a recommendation like that,” said the associate dean of research.

  • Teacher of the Year (Tenure/Tenure-Track): Michael Marcellin, Regents Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and International Foundation for Telemetering Chaired Professor
  • Teacher of the Year (Career-Track): Sharon ONeal, professor of practice, software engineering
  • Peterson Family Outstanding Early Career Faculty: Adam Printz, associate professor, chemical and environmental engineering
Melde, ONeal, Hahn
Kathleen Melde, left, and David W. Hahn present Sharon ONeal’s award. Melde praised ONeal’s leadership in helping launch software and computer science and engineering degrees: “Both of these programs will change the future of the College of Engineering and will be a lasting legacy.”

College-Wide Awards

The Outstanding Supporter of Diversity & Inclusion Award recognizes a student or employee for their efforts to promote these ideals in the college and the engineering profession.

This year’s award went to ENGAGED Director Noel Hennessey. Her numerous nominators lauded her for making the program a university-wide model for serving underrepresented students in STEM. Hennessey is changing the college’s culture and enriching the state’s workforce as she removes barriers for deserving students, they said.

This year’s Wildcat Engineering Student Society Recognition of Excellence Award went to the UA student chapter of Engineers Without Borders, whose mission is to support community-driven development programs worldwide through sustainable engineering projects.

“They have played a critical role in addressing challenges such as providing access to safe drinking water in Ghana, sanitation in Bolivia and cultural support in the Dominican Republic,” said presenter Kelly Simmons-Potter, associate dean of academic affairs.

Farley, Brown, Karanikola stand in front a photo screen
Engineers Without Borders club members Max Farley and Mike Brown, together with sponsor Vicky Karanikola, accept the Wildcat Engineering Student Society Recognition of Excellence Award.

Other Acknowledgements

Hahn recognized faculty who won university-level awards this year. Liesl Folks, UA vice president of semiconductor strategy and ECE professor, and Melde were named Women of Impact. CHEE professor Reyes Sierra-Alvarez garnered the Extraordinary Faculty Award.

At the college level, BME assistant professor and Craig M. Berge Faculty Fellow Philipp Gutruf was selected as the 2024 da Vinci Fellow.

Hahn also acknowledged service anniversaries, making note of the 45 years that Farhang Shadman, Regents Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering, has served the college. These employees celebrated 35 years: Steven Dvoark, Rose Evans, Roberto Guzman, Erdogan Madenci and Janette Mills.